Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
2017 Award Winners
Share |


MRPA Quarterly Award


MRPA Quarterly Award gives credit and recognition to a MRPA member who has contributed to the improvement of the Association through their involvement and accomplishments during the each quarter.


Eligibility:  Nominee must be an MRPA member who is not a member of the Executive Board.


Click here to submit your nominee.

MRPA 2017 Award Winners


The MRPA Awards Program provides parks and recreation professionals an opportunity to nominate those outstanding individuals who you believed deserve public acknowledgment for outstanding service in and around the field of parks and recreation.


Presentation of the awards was made at the Celebration of Excellence Awards Banquet and the Annual Conference.


MRPA congratulates the following winners!

  • MRPA Outstanding Member of the Year Award, Emily Lawrence, M-NCPPC - Prince George's County
  • MRPA Citation Award, Captain Butch Arbin, Ocean City Beach Patrol
  • John P. "Jack" Hewitt Distinguished Fellow Recognition, P. Doug Meadows, Calvert County Parks & Recreation
  • Community Volunteer Award, Paul Hlavinka
  • Landscape Site / ASLA Award, Howard County Recreation & Parks, Robinson Nature Center's Nature Place
  • Writing, Research or Audio Visual Award, Will Parson, Chesapeake Bay Program
  • Maryland My Maryland Special Event/Festival of the Year Award, City of Gaithersburg, Oktoberfest at the Kentlands
  • Raising Up Award, M-NCPPC - Prince George's County, Empty Bowls

Park & Resource Conservation (PARC) Branch

  • Planning & Design with Environmental Protection in Mind, Anne Arundel County Recreation & Parks, Fort Small Park Boating Facility
  • Creative Programming Award, Baltimore City Recreation & Parks, Kids in Kayaks
  • Service Award, Howard County Recreation & Parks, Chainsaw Safety & Training Team

Recreation & Leisure Service (RALS) Branch

  • Innovative Program Award, MCR Senior & Youth Development
  • Innovation Program Award, Technovation Team
  • Committee of the Year, Workshops & Training
  • Outstanding Recreation Professional, Krista Billingsley, Howard County Recreation & Parks
    Stephen Parks
  • Outstanding Recreation Professional, Jennifer Mogus, City of Gaithersburg
    Donald Lewis Long, Sr. Student Award, Jeremy Weiss
  • Member of The Year, Christy Irving

Therapeutic Recreation (TR) Branch

  • Innovative Program Award, Club 111
  • Innovative Program Award, Adaptive Ice Skating
  • Practitioner Award, Karen Haseley
  • Chairperson's Award, Genevieve Jennai

  • Committee of the Year Award
  • Presidential Recognition Awards
(Back to Top)


If you have any questions regarding MRPA awards, please contact the Awards Committee Chair:

Elisabeth Deal
City of Rockville Recreation & Parks
 (240) 314-8658



(Back to Top)

Member Sponsors

Online Surveys



Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal