Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
2016 Award Winners
Share |


MRPA Quarterly Award


MRPA Quarterly Award gives credit and recognition to a MRPA member who has contributed to the improvement of the Association through their involvement and accomplishments during the period beginning April through June 2017.


Eligibility:  Nominee must be an MRPA member who is not a member of the Executive Board.


DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSION:  July 5, 2017 by 5:00 pm


Click here to submit your nominee.

MRPA 2016 Award Winners


The 2016 MRPA Awards Program provided parks and recreation professionals an opportunity to nominate those outstanding individuals who you believed deserve public acknowledgment for outstanding service in and around the field of parks and recreation.


Presentation of the awards was made at the Annual Conference at Ocean City in April 2016.

  • MRPA Outstanding Member of the Year Award
    Di Quynn-Reno, City of Greenbelt

  • MRPA Citation Award
    Betsy Thompson

  • Retired Life Award
    Betsy Thompson
    Dr. Willa Brooks
    Michael A. Horrigan

  • John P. "Jack" Hewitt Distinguished Fellow Recognition
    Barbara J. Lages

  • Community Volunteer Award
    Jeffrey Budnitz
    Sarah Morse


  • Landscape Site / ASLA Award
    M-NCPPC - Prince George's County

  • Writing, Research or Audio Visual Award
    Amanda Abrams, Kyle Lowe and Sharon Thorpe
    M-NCPPC - Prince George's County
  • Maryland My Maryland Special Event/Festival of the Year Award
    Calvert County Parks & Recreation
    Anne Arundel County Recreation & Parks

PARC Branch

  • Planning & Design with Environmental Protection in Mind
    M-NCPPC - Montgomery Parks
    City of Gaithersburg

  • Creative Programming Award
    Tonya Johnson, M-NCPPC - Prince George's County

  • Creative Maintenance Category
    Stewart Seal, M-NCPPC - Prince George's County

  • Service Award
    Paul Downey

  • Student Award
    Andrew Lombardi

RALS Branch

  • Innovative Program Award
    Student Union

  • Innovation Program Award
    Melanie Maggi

  • Committee of the Year
    Ashley Gibbs, Marketing & Communications Committee
    Stephen Parks, Marketing & Communications Committee

  • Member of the Year
    John Kennedy

  • Outstanding Recreation Professional
    Stephen Parks

  • Donald Lewis Long, Sr. Student Award
    Rachel Hall
    Lakeisha Major

TR Branch

Innovative Program Award

  • Innovative Program Award
    Nancy Pfeffer, Mary Bowie, Jim Bell and Patrick Obi
    M-NCPPC - Prince George's County

  • Innovative Program Award
    Mary Bowie and Pamela Lehnert
    M-NCPPC - Prince George's County
  • Volunteer Award
    TR Cake Day Squad (Carroll County)

  • Practitioner Award
    Robert Signor

  • Outstanding Student Award
    Brittany Welsch
  • Committee of the Year Award
    Education (conference/branches/education & training committees)
  • Presidential Recognition Awards
    Steven Parks
    Kate Gaddis
    Maureen Dougherty, Ph.D.
(Back to Top)


If you have any questions regarding MRPA awards, please contact the Awards Committee Chair:

Elisabeth Deal
City of Rockville
Work: (240) 314-8658

(Back to Top)

more Calendar

Field Renovation - Salisbury Salvation Army

Member Sponsors
Online Surveys


Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal